Recipients of the Trustees' Award

David Hendin accepts the 2022 Trustees’ Award

In 2003 the ANS began the tradition of honoring deserving individuals with the Trustees’ Award at the ANS Annual Dinner Gala held in January. The Trustees confer the award on those individuals who have helped in extraordinary ways to forward the mission of the Society.

In 2016, we presented for the first time a new Trustees’ Award Medal created by the famed Portuguese artist João Duarte. A medalist of worldwide renown, Duarte graduated in 1978 from the Escola Superior de Belas-Artes de Lisboa and serves on the Fine Arts Faculty of the Universidade de Lisboa. Over the decades, he has focused primarily on sculpture and medallic art, producing 45 monuments for the Portuguese public and a dozen commemorative coins for the Portuguese Mint. But it is his more than 150 medals that have captivated critics and earned him such prestigious awards as the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation Prize for Innovation and Creativity in 2002 and the ANS J. Sanford Saltus Award for Signal Achievement in the Art of the Medal in 2011. Duarte’s medals have been featured in over a dozen solo shows, including a 30-year retrospective held in 2010 at the Portuguese Mint. 

For the 2020 ANS Gala, Duarte designed a specially-commissioned piece in honor and appreciation of Dr. Ute Wartenberg’s two-decades of dedicated leadership at the ANS and, for the 2021 ANS Virtual Gala, he designed a limited-edition pin.

Recipients of the Trustees’ Award

2022David Hendin
2021Mark and Lottie Salton (posthumously)
2020Richard M. Beleson
2019Mike Gasvoda
2018Rosen Family
2017Anthony J. Terranova
2017Eric P. Newman Numismatic Education Society and the Newman Numismatic Portal
2016Regina and John W. Adams
2015Mrs. Elizabeth Forbes Hazard Scott and Mr. Stanley DeForest Scott
2014Mrs. Marian Scheuer Sofaer and the Honorable Abraham D. Sofaer
2013Roger S. Siboni
2012Harlan J. Berk
2011Ira and Lawrence Goldberg
2010Victor England, Jr.
2009Harvey Stack
2008Donald G. Partrick
2007Chester L. Krause
2006Q. David Bowers
2005George Kolbe
2004Kenneth L. Edlow
2003Shelby White and Leon Levy
2003Jamie Stewart