ANS 2016 Annual Gala


January 8, 2016

On Thursday, January 7, 2016, nearly 200 friends of The American Numismatic Society (ANS) gathered at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City to celebrate Regina and John W. Adams’ long-term dedication to the Society with the presentation of the 2016 Trustees’ Award. Their unflagging devotion to numismatics, John’s leadership roles as an ANS Trustee and active committee member, and their exemplary generosity to the Society made them an obvious and beloved choice for this year’s award. They were honored along with Kenneth Bressett, who received the ANS Distinguished Service Award, and Dr. Ursula Kampmann, who received the 2015 Burnett Anderson Memorial Award.

John W. Adams, ANS Honorary Trustee, Fellow, and Augustus B. Sage Society member, joined the Society more than 40 years ago. He served on the ANS Board of Trustees from 2000-2008, was a member of the Huntington Medal Award Committee and the Finance Committee, and was the Chairman of the Library Committee. In 2014 Mr. Adams received the Archer M. Huntington Award for his outstanding career contributions to numismatic scholarship – a rare distinction to have received both of the ANS’s most important honors. Both he and his wife, Regina, have shown exemplary devotion and commitment to the ANS, and the Society is delighted to acknowledge their remarkable generosity.

Past recipients of the Trustees’ Award include such notable numismatists and donors as Ms. Shelby White and Mr. Leon Levy, Mr. Jamie Stewart, Mr. Kenneth L. Edlow, Mr. George Kolbe, Mr. Q. David Bowers, Mr. Chester L. Krause, Mr. Donald G. Partrick, Mr. Harvey Stack, Mr. Victor England, Jr., Mr. Ira Goldberg, Mr. Larry Goldberg, Mr. Harlan J. Berk, Mr. Roger S. Siboni, Mrs. Marian Scheuer Sofaer and the Honorable Abraham D. Sofaer, and Mrs. Elizabeth Forbes Hazard Scott and Mr. Stanley DeForest Scott.
The ANS Distinguished Service Award, given in recognition of outstanding contributions by an ANS volunteer or staff member, was presented to Life member and Fellow Kenneth E. Bressett, who joined the ANS in 1954 and served on the ANS Far Eastern Standing Committee from 1976 to 1979. He is only the third recipient of this Award, preceded by the late Life Fellow Richard Witschonke and Life Fellow Frederick G. Withington. Mr. Bressett is well-known and respected in the numismatic community, having worked as an author, publisher, editor, and teacher.

Dr. Ursula Kampmann, founder, Editor-at-large and CEO of MünzenWoche (CoinsWeekly), was the 2015 recipient of the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing. She is the first European to be given this award, which is sponsored by F&W Publications and presented annually to an author, journalist, or researcher in recognition of their career contributions to the field. Dr. Kampmann joined the ANS in 1995 and currently serves as a Fellow.
Every year the American Numismatic Society raises critical revenue through Gala ticket sales, program advertisements, sponsorships, contributions, and the proceeds from a live auction. These funds are used to further the Society’s mission of supporting research and education in numismatics.

The 2017 Annual Gala Dinner will be held on Thursday, January 12, 2017 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.

The American Numismatic Society, organized in 1858 and incorporated in 1865 in New York State, operates as a research museum under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is recognized as a publicly supported organization under section 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) as confirmed on November 1, 1970.

American Numismatic Society
75 Varick St., Floor 11, New York, NY 10013
Tel: (212) 571-4470 Fax: 212-571-4479