North American

Silver shilling of Massachusetts Bay

The United States Department includes all coins issued in and for the British North American colonies until 1783 and thereafter for the United States and Canada, as well as Alaska and Hawaii before annexation. The total figure is around 44,000 coins, tokens, banknotes, and other items. Some of the strongest areas of the collection include the colonial silver coins of Massachusetts; the Confederation-period state coinages (especially of New Jersey and Connecticut); Federal large cents, Gobrecht dollars, and proof gold; and Civil War tokens.