Bronze Sestertius of Nero
62–68 CE

The Roman Department includes all coins conventionally identified as Republican or Imperial, as well as the silver coins of the imperial provinces, all coins of Roman Alexandria, and the imperial-period provincial coins of Gaul and Spain. All other copper coins of the Roman provinces are found in the Greek Department. There are approximately 6,000 coins of the Republic, about 56,000 of the mainstream imperial coinage, about 3,000 provincial silver and nearly 13,000 of Alexandria. Both the Republican and imperial collections have been recently incorporated into the online research tools Online Coins of the Roman Empire (OCRE) and Coinage of the Roman Republic Online (CRRO). There is room for improvement in some areas, especially the precious-metal coins of the later empire, but taken as a whole the collection is among the first rank worldwide.