Recipients of the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award

Intended to recognize quality and integrity in numismatic wordsmithing of every kind, this award was created by Krause Publications, the parent company of Numismatic News, World Coin News, Bank Note Reporter, and COINS magazine and named after longtime Krause correspondent and Washington Bureau representative Burnett Anderson. The medal was first given posthumously to Mr. Anderson in 1999, at the 108th anniversary convention awards banquet of the American Numismatic Association.

Before serving at Krause Publications, Mr. Anderson worked as a newspaper reporter, a foreign correspondent, and for 25 years at the United States Information Agency.

Today the award recognizes researchers, authors, and journalists for their career contributions to numismatics, and is sponsored by F & W Publications. It is presented under the auspices of the ANA and the ANS, with the participation of the Numismatic Literary Guild.

Burnett Anderson
Burnett Anderson

Recipients of the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award

Peter van Alfen (2019)
2020Oliver Hoover
2019Peter van Alfen
2018Kenneth E. Bressett
2017Donn Pearlman
2016Scott A. Travers
2015Ursula Kampmann
2014Ed Reiter
2013Paul Gilkes
2012Robert Wilson Hoge
2011Thomas K. DeLorey
2010David Alexander
2009Chester L. Krause
2008Wayne Homren
2007David Harper
2006Beth Deisher
2005Clifford Mishler
2004Margo Russell
2003Edward C. Rochette
2002Robert W. Julian
2001Eric P. Newman
2000Q. David Bowers
1999Burnett Anderson (posthumously)