The Opening of the Donald Groves Building

by Juliette Pelletier

Friday, June 18, 2004 marked the official opening of our new building at 96 Fulton Street in lower Manhattan. Our new location has completely renovated educational and research facilities as well as a new and expanded Library on two floors. This long-awaited historic moment was celebrated by over 150 guests, who enjoyed an appetizing and ample buffet and sipped champagne and wine to the live music of the Laurent Medegli Jazz Trio. The festive atmosphere was enhanced by remarks made by Mr. Donald G. Partrick, President of the ANS, Mr. Roger Siboni, Trustee of the ANS, Mr. John Whitney Walter, First Vice President of the ANS who introduced and thanked Mr. Pete Res, Owner’s Representative. Remarks were also made by a representative for the Honorable Virginia Fields as well as the Honorable Alan J. Gerson, City Council Member, City of New York, whose energetic enthusiasm for the ANS being the first cultural institution to open in Lower Manhattan since 9/11 was felt by all present. Mr. Donald G. Partrick concluded by inviting guests to tour the building.

Mr. Chris Cipoletti, ANA Executive Director & Dr. Ute Wartenberg, ANS Executive Director

Mr. Reed Hawn, Mr. Robert Hoge and Mr. John Whitney Walter

Mr. John Herzog, Dr. and Mrs. Larry Adams, Mr. Thomas Tesoria

Dr. Michael Bates, Mr. Bob Schaaf, Mr. Richard Perrecelli in the new curatorial department

Mr. John Whitney congratulating Mr. Peter Res, ANS building manager on a job well done

Ms. Katharine Siboni, Mr. Roger Siboni and Pamala Plummer-​Wright

Joseph Komljenovich, Mrs. Susan Tripp, Mr. David Tripp, Ms. Margaret Carmody, Ms. Rosemary Lazenby & Mr. Garfield Miller

Mr. Ken Edlow & Mr. Kenneth McKenzie

ANS visitor researching on opening day

Councilman Alan Gerson addressing the crowd and welcoming the ANS to Lower Manhattan

Mr. Frank Campbell, ANS Librarian with Dr. Brooks Levy and friend

Mr. Donald Partrick, ANS President addresses the crowd in the new Main Hall

Mr. Kenneth Cowin, Mr. Kenneth Edlow and Mrs. Mary Edlow

Mr. Reed Hawn, Christina Lehmejian-Karaszewski, Mr. Vicken Yegparian and Mr. Larry Stack

Dr. Richard Stone and Dr. Jack Kroll

Mr. Stanley DeForest Scott, Mr. Ted Withington and Mrs. Withington