The 2007 Annual Dinner Gala

by Juliette Pelletier

Roger Siboni welcomes Sage Society members

The 2007 Annual Dinner Gala took place on Thursday, January 11, 2007, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. With exactly two hundred people in attendance, this year’s event raised close to $230,000. The evening began early for Augustus B. Sage Society members, who met in the Duke of Windsor Suite to enjoy cocktails and lovely harp music performed by Mrs. Jasmine Cowin, followed by a talk entitled “Flashback to 1858: Let’s Meet Augustus B. Sage,” given by guest speaker Q. David Bowers. Following this were cocktails for all Gala attendees in the Hilton Room and the Dinner Gala in the Empire Room. Opening remarks were given by ANS President Mr. Donald G. Partrick, and former ANA president and past executive editor of Numismatic News Mr. Edward C. Rochette spoke movingly about his longtime colleague and honored friend Chester L. Krause. This was followed by the presentation of the Trustees’ Award to Mr. Chester L. Krause by Gala Chairman Mr. Clifford L. Mishler. Mr. Roger S. Siboni acted as the evening’s emcee. The dinner auction was called by the humorous and lively Mr. Harmer Johnson and raised $130,000 through the sale of unique items donated by Mr. Q. David Bowers, Mr. George S. Cuhaj, Mr. Jonathan Kagan, Dr. Ute Wartenberg Kagan, Mr. Chester L. Krause, Ms. Jane Wilson-Marquis, and Mr. Clifford L. Mishler. After an exquisite dinner and dancing to music performed by the Lester Lanin Orchestra, the evening concluded with each guest receiving a gift bag kindly donated by Rare Coin Wholesalers and Krause Publications. Six of the guests also won one of two copies of the 2007 Standard Catalog of Coins, one of two subscriptions to Numismatic News, or one of two subscriptions to World Coin News.

Joel Anderson and Greg Rohan

Roger Siboni and Mary Counts

ANS President Don Partrick, Regina and John Adams

Q. David Bowers, Beth Deisher, Ute Wartenberg Kagan

Charles Anderson, Peter Tompa, George Wyper

ANS President Donald Partrick makes welcoming remarks

Q. David Bowers giving his talk

Alain Baron, Christine Karstedt, Larry Stack

Harpist Jasmine Cowin

Cliff Mishler presents Chet Krause with the Trustees’ Award

Seated L-R: Ray Williams, Donald Scarinci, Roger Siboni, Chancey Pelletier. Standing L-R: Diane Williams, Spencer Peck, Betty Peck, Jerome Lacroix, Robert Hoge

Seated L-R: Gayle Klug, David Klug, Chet Krause, Mark Anderson, Cliff Mishler. Standing L-R: Ed Rochette, Patti Krause, Maribel Figueredo, Chris Williams

Attach:TODO15.jpg Δ | Seated L-R: Melissa Karstedt, Larry Stack, Christine Karstedt, Vicken Yegparian, Christina Lehmejian-Karaszweski. Standing L-R: Ugo Leca, John Kraljevich, Andrew Bowers, Julie Abrams, Larry Abrams

Seated L-R: Rosa Campbell, Bill Jenks, Robert Brueggeman, Greg Rohan, Regina Adams. Standing L-R: Frank Campbell, John Adams, Shirley Jenks, Missy and Chris Eimer

Harmer Johnson conducts the auction

Alain Baron

Melissa Karstedt

Joel Anderson

Lorne Thyssen

Lorne Thyssen, Larry Stack, Alain Baron
Platinum Sponsors
Mr. Donald Partrick
Stack’s Coin Galleries
Whitman Publishing

Gold Sponsors
Classical Numismatic Group, Inc.
Mr. Victor England and Mr. Eric J. McFadden

Silver Sponsors
Heritage Auction Galleries
Mr. Roger S. Siboni
Mr. Anthony Terranova
Dr. Arnold-Peter C. Weiss MD
Mr. George U. Wyper

Bronze Sponsors
Dr. Alain Baron NGSA
Mr. Harlan J. Berk
Mr. Kenneth Edlow
Mr. Jonathan H. Kagan
Mr. David M. Sundman
Dr. Brent Upchurch

Contributing Sponsors
Mr. John W. Adams
Prof. Jane M. Cody

Ancient Coin Collectors Guild
Mr. Robert Brueggeman
Mr. David English Carmack
Mr. Fred Davidson
Dr. Donald Erlenkotter
Prof. John H. Kroll
Littleton Coin Company
Milwaukee Numismatic Society
Morton & Eden
Rare Coin Wholesalers
R. M. Smythe
Mr. Peter Sugar
Mr. Thomas C. Wilfred
William Zifchak

Gala Chairman
Mr. Clifford L. Mishler

Auction Donors
Mr. Q. David Bowers
Mr. George S. Cuhaj
Mr. Jonathan Kagan
Dr. Ute Wartenberg Kagan
Mr. Chester L. Krause
Ms. Jane Wilson-Marquis
Mr. Clifford L. Mishler

Gift Bag Donors
Krause Publications
Rare Coin Wholesalers