Category Archives: Archives

Presidents and Chairmen of the American Numismatic Society

Chairmen of the Board Donald G. Partrick, 2007-2008 Kenneth L. Edlow, 2010- Honorary Presidents Benjamin Betts, 1908 Daniel Parish, Jr., 1908-14 Andrew C. Zabriskie, 1908-16 Archer M. Huntington, 1910-55 Stephen H. P. Pell, 1949-50 Samuel R. Milbank, 1978-85 Presidents Isaac Hand Gibbs, M.D., 1858 Robert J. Dodge, 1858-64 Frank H. Norton, 1864-67 Elisha Y. Ten…
Read more

Former Officers of the American Numismatic Society

Since the founding of the American Numismatic Society in 1858, the Society's officers have consistently displayed exemplary leadership skills—skills which have enabled the Society to thrive and become the esteemed institution that it is today. Click on any of the links below to view of list of past officers for a particular position, including the…
Read more

ANS Moment

February 1902: The ANS commissions its Prince Henry Medal In February of 1902, Victor D. Brenner contacted ANS President Andrew Zabriskie to offer the ANS dies for a medal he was designing to commemorate an upcoming visit to the United States by Prince Henry of Prussia. According to Brenner's proposal, the only expense for the Society would…
Read more