American Numismatic Society
American Numismatic Society



SPECIAL EVENTS - Annual Report FY 2012

Thurs.October 205:30Krause-Mishler Forum Lecture by Dr. Tuukka Talvio Details

Fri.October 21 Museum of American Finance Wall Street Bourse and Auction

Fri.October 214:00ANS Finance Committee Meeting

Sat.October 2210:00ANS Board of Trustees Meeting

Sat.October 223:00ANS 154th Annual Meeting

Wed.November 9Lecture: Shekel for your Thoughts - Ancient Coins of the Holy Land by David Hendin Details

Thurs.-SunNovember 10-13ANS Curator of North American Coins and Currency, Robert Wilson Hoge, to attend annual C4 Convention at the Bay State Coin Show, Boston, MA Details

Thurs.November 15Heritage Lecture Series: Colonial Coins
Christopher J. Salmon, and Mark Borckhardt lecture on Silver Coins of Massachusetts Details

WedDecember 7Numismatic Conversations with Mr. Robert Wilson Hoge, Curator of North American Coins and Currency; Details

 December 9-10ANS Staff at San Francisco Historical Bourse Details

Mon.December 19ANS Early Closing at 1:45pm (ANS PM Closing)

Thu.January 5, 20122012 ANS Dinner Gala in honor of Harlan J. Berk and Frederic G. Withington Details

 January 6-8, 2012ANS/Friends of Numismatics Reception at the Archaeological Institute of American Annual Meeting Details

Mon.January 30, 2012Private Event: Global Kids, Inc. Visit Details

Thu.February 2, 20125:30pmStephen K. Scher Lecture - Andrea Bayer, Associate Curator, Dept. of European Paintings at the Metropolitan Museum of Art Exploring the Renaissance Portrait from Donatello to Bellini Details

Mon.February 6, 2012ANS Adjunct Curator Oliver Hoover, will present a lecture on the coinage of Hellenistic Syria and the Southern Levant in the Classics Department of the University of Cincinnati. Details

Sat.February 18, 2012ANS Curator of North American Coins & Currency Robert W. Hoge to lecture at Gilcrease Museum, Tulsa, OK Details

Mon.February 27, 2012Robert Hoge Lectures at Universitat Barcelona Details

 February 20-28, 2012 Sage Society Trip to Israel and Jordan Details

Thu.Feb 23, 20125:30pm2011 Huntington Medal Award & Silvia Mani Hurter Memorial Lecture Details

Sat.February 25, 201210:00amBoard of Trustees meeting

Sat.Mar 3, 2012Robert Hoge Lectures at Universitat Barcelona Details

Wed.March 7, 20125:30pmANS Lecture The Wrapped Coin: The Ritual of Coin Giving in the Early and Middle Islamic Period by Stefan Heidemann Details

Mon.March 12, 20125:30pmMark M. Salton Memorial Lecture with Giancarlo Alteri Details

Thu.April 19, 20125:30pmHarry W. Fowler Lecture Coin Circulation in Epirus: Excavation Finds from the Byzantine Castle of Ioannina with Katerini Liampi Details

Mon.April 23, 20125:30pmANS Lecture Coin hoards and hoarding in Britain: buried with the intention of recovery or votive deposits? with Roger Bland Details

 April 26-29, 2012 ANS attends Chicago International Coin Fair Details

Wed.May 9, 2012Heritage Lecture Series: Ancient Coins Details

 May 11-12, 2012 ANS attends San Francisco Historical Bourse Details

Sat.May 12, 20127:30pmAugustus B. Sage Society Dinner at SF Historical Bourse Details

Mon.June 11, 2012Eric P. Newman Graduate Summer Seminar begins details

Fri.June 15, 20127:30pmSage Society Dinner & Lecture Details

Sat.June 16, 201210:00amBoard of Trustees meeting

Wed.June 20, 2012ANS Lecture The Acroteria of the Temple of Venus and Rome Terence Cheesman Details

Wed.July 18, 2012ANS Lecture The Three Ages of Greek Coinage and Monetary by Alain Bresson Details

 August 7-11, 2012 ANS attends World's Fair of Money, Philadelphia, PA Details

Thu.September 20, 2012Heritage Lecture Series: Latin American Coinage Details

Wed.September 26, 2012ANS Curatorial Associate, Peter Donovan, to present at The State Hermitage Museum, Russia "Da Yuezhi and Kushan coinage from Bactria, from the collection of the American Numismatic Society, New York" at the Conference: Two Centuries of Islamic Numismatics in Russia. Details

 September 26-28, 2012ANS Deputy Director Andrew Meadows to present at "Greek coins and their images: noble issuers, humble users?" Conference, French School at Athens, Greece Details