American Numismatic Society
American Numismatic Society


Charles E. Anthon

President of the ANS from 1868 to 1870 and 1873 to 1883, it was due to Anthon that the Society made its initial efforts to transform itself from a group of local coin collectors to a recognized scholarly institution.

Benjamin Betts

Sixth president of the ANS (1870-1873) and longtime Treasurer (1874-1888), Betts helped to stabilized the Society's finances and resolve legal disputes arising from the Society's first commemorative medal—its Lincoln Memorial Medal.

Agnes Baldwin Brett

Assistant Curator, then Curator of the ANS from 1909 to 1912, Brett also served as honorary Associate Curator of Ancient Coins from 1923 to 1955 and Chair of the ANS Publication Committee from 1923 to 1946.

Arthur S. Dewing

Noted Greek numismatist and founder of the Harvard Business School, Dewing served on the Society's Council from 1942 until his death in 1971, most importantly as President from 1947 to 1949.

Robert J. Eidlitz

Huntington medalist, collector of architectural medals and renown builder, Robert J. Eidlitz served on the ANS Council for almost twenty years and was responsible for the construction of much of the Society's Audubon Terrace headquarters.

Edward Groh

One of the founding members of the ANS, Groh served as librarian (1864-65) and Curator (1859-79 and 1897-1905). The Society's first special fund for the purchase of coins was named in his honor.

Archer M. Huntington

President of the ANS from 1905 to 1910, Huntington's more significant contribution came as a benefactor. Gifts from Huntington included coins and medal for the Society's collection and significant financial aid, including funds for the construction of the Society's Audubon Terrace facility and to start various endowments.

Herbert E. Ives

President of the ANS from 1942 to 1947, Ives initiated educational programming which led to the creation of the Society's Graduate Summer Seminar program in 1954.

Joseph N.T. Levick

Treasurer of the ANS from 1867 to 1875, Levick helped found the Society's successful publications program in 1866 when he championed the effort to launch the first American numismatic journal — The American Journal of Numismatics.

Samuel R. Milbank

Milbank was the President of the ANS from 1959 to 1978, making him the second-longest serving president in ANS history.

George C. Miles

A noted Islamic numismatist, Miles was responsible for the Society's Islamic and Hispanic collections from 1946 until his retirement in 1972; he also served as Chief Curator from 1954 through 1969. In his latter years (1966-72), Miles also helped administer the Society, serving as its Executive Director and Secretary.

Edward T. Newell

A renowned Greek numismatist, Newell served as President of the ANS from 1916 until his death in 1941. Upon his death, he bequeathed his mammoth collection of coins to the Society.

Sydney P. Noe

Librarian, Editor, Secretary, Curator, and, finally, Chief Curator, Noe served the Society in many capacities in a career that spanned almost four decades.

R. Henry Norweb, Jr.

Norweb served on the Council from 1978 until his death in 1995 and as President of such from 1990 to 1994. Norweb's tenure on the Council included work as the co-chair of the Society's first annual giving campaign in the late 1980s and the Council's governance and long-range planning committees in the 1990s.

Daniel Parish, Jr.

President of the ANS from 1883 until 1896, Parish oversaw a series of significant revisions to the Society's Constitution.

Stephen H.P. Pell

Long-time Councilor and collector of Colonial relics, Pell's greatest contribution to the ANS occurred when he volunteered to serve as ANS President after Edward Newell's untimely death.

Robert Robertson

A prominent collector of Swedish numismatics, Robertson served as Assistant Curator and photographer for the ANS for much of the 1930s.

Augustus B. Sage

One of the founding members of the ANS, the first meeting of the ANS was held in Sage's home in 1858.

J. Sanford Saltus

A prominent figure in the leadership of the Society from the 1890s until his death in 1922, Saltus championed the Society's medals program during this period and endowed the medal award named in his honor.

Margaret Thompson

Assistant Curator and then Curator of Greek Coins from 1949 to 1979, Thompson also served as Chief Curator from 1969 to 1979.

Louis C. West

Fifteenth president of the ANS (1949-59), Louis West oversaw the renovations of the Society's Audubon Terrace facility and launch of the Graduate Summer Seminar in Numismatics.

Howland Wood

Curator of the ANS from 1913 to 1938, Wood oversaw the increase of the collections from 50,000 to almost 200,000 specimens.

Andrew C. Zabriskie

President of the ANS from 1895 to 1904, Zabriskie led an unsuccessful effort to merge the ANS with the New-York Historical Society in order to avert fiscal shortfalls.