American Numismatic Society
American Numismatic Society



2014 Calendar
subject to change


Wed.January 1, 2014New Years Day ANS Closed
Thurs.January 9, 20142014 ANS Annual Dinner Gala at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel New York City.
Sat.January 4, 20148:30-11:30amANS at the AIA and APA joint meetings. Peter van Alfen, ANS Margaret Thompson Associate Curator of Greek Coins, will present Archaic Small Change and the Logic of Political Survival at the Session 4H: "Economic Integration and Diintegation: New Approaches to Standards and Denominations in Ancient Greek Coinage".
Sat.January 4, 20146:30-7:30pmANS Friends reception,will be held at the AIA and APA Annual Meeting. ANS Members and former seminar alumni are warmly invited to join us at the reception. All are also welcome to attend the panel session. Details.
Sat.January 4, 20142:30pmGilles Bransbourg, ANS Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins, has been invited as a guest speaker by the Société Française de Numismatique, Grande Salle des Commissions, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, to present "Rfléxions sur la signification monétaire des marques X, XVI and des deniers romains des années 150-80 av. J.- C."
Thurs.-Sun.January 9-12, 2014ANS Staff to attend the New York International Numismatic Convention. Details
Mon.January 20, 2014Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (ANS Closed)
Mon.February 17, 2014Presidents' Day (ANS Closed)
Thurs.February 20, 2014J. Sanford Saltus Award for distinguished achievement in the field of the art of the medal to Pawel Leski, and lecture. Details
Fri.February 21, 2014August B. Sage Society Members & Trustees Dinner and Lecture. Details
Sat.February 22, 201410:00amBoard of Trustees Meeting
Thurs.-Sun.April 10-13 2014ANS at CICF Details
Fri. and Sat.April 25- 26 2014ANS Staff in Paris: Deputy Director, Dr. Andrew Meadows, Curator of Greek Coins, Peter van Alfen, Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins, Gilles Bransbourg and Web Developer, Ethan Gruber Details
Sat.April 26 2014The Archer M. Huntington Award to be presented, in Boston, to John W. Adams. Details
Wed.May 7, 2014The Salton Memorial Lecture - "Byzantine Gold and the Economy of the Empire" by Dr. Cécile Morrisson Details
Thurs.May 15, 2014Dr. Ute Wartenberg will be delivering a talk on "Die Münzprägung der Lyder" in Dresden Details
Tues.May 20, 2014Dr. Uter Wartenberg will be delivering a talk on "Die Münzprägung der Lyder" in Munich Details
Mon.May 26, 2014Memorial Day (ANS Closed)
Mon.June 2, 201460th Annual Eric P. Newman Graduate Summer Seminar begins
Wed.June 11, 2014Gilles Bransbourg, Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins and a Research Associate with the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World (ISAW) at NYU, will be a speaker during the June 11-14 conference held at ISAW by the International Late Antiquity Network, 'Property and Power in Late Antiquity'. He will be presenting a talk on "Taxation and the Clash of Powers. War and Peace among the Elites of the Late Roman World" Details
Thurs.June 12, 2014Book Launch and Lecture: "The Island Standard: the Coinage of Paros in its Island Context" by John A N Z Tully Details
Thurs.June 12, 2014Robert W. Hoge, Curator Emeritus will be presenting a talk on "Perspectivas deslumbrantes: La colección numismática de Archer Milton Huntington"in Toledo, Spain Details
Sat.June 21, 201410:00amBoard of Trustees Meeting
Fri.June 27, 2014Gilles Bransbourg, Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins will be a speaker during The Celtic Conference in Classics in the University of Edinburgh. He will be presenting a talk on "Asia Minor under Rome: Single and Regional Currencies" Details
Sun.-Sat.June 22-28 2014Sage Society Trip 2014 Details
Fri.July 4, 2014Independence Day (ANS Closed)
Fri.July 25, 201460th Annual Eric P. Newman Graduate Summer Seminar concludes
Tues-SatAugust 5-9, 2014ANS attends ANA Worlds Fair of Money - Chicago
Mon.September 1, 2014Labor Day (ANS Closed)
Tues.September 16, 2014Dr. Thomas Faucher will present a lecture on "From Alexander to Cleopatra: the Coins of Egypt" Details
Thurs-Fri.Oct. 2-3 2014Gilles Bransbourg, Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins, will be a speaker at the international conference, "Aux marges du Marché: Acteurs et échanges non institutionnels dans les économies préindustrielles", at the Institut d'Etudes Avancées of the University of Aix/Marseille in France. His talk titled, "Panem et circenses: quand l'Empire se livre au marché noir" ("Bread and Games: when the Empire involves itself in the Black Market") covers the parallel markets that developed around the official chain of food supply of the city of Rome during the Roman Empire. Details
Thurs-Sat.Oct. 9-11, 2014The ANS will have a booth at the PNG Dealers first Annual New York Invitational Details
Tues.October 14, 2014David Hendin, Adjunct Curator will present "Insights on the Biblical Narrative from Judean and New Testament Coins"in Springfield, Missouri Details
Sat.October 25, 201410:00amBoard of Trustees Meeting
Sat.October 25, 20143:00pmANS 157th Annual Meeting
Tues.October 28, 20146:45pmDavid Hendin, Adjunct Curator will present "Coins Speak about Jewish History of the Second Temple Period" at Yeshiva University, New York Details
Thurs.October 30, 2014Coinage of the Americas Conference (COAC) at the Whitman Expo Details
Thurs-SunOctober 30- Nov 2, 2014ANS participating at the Whitman Expo Details
Fri.October 31, 20144:00Book Signing at the Whitman Expo with Dr. Philip Mossman. From 2pm till 4pm.Details.
Tues.November 4, 2014Robert W Hoge, Curator Emeritus of North American Coins and Currency gave a talk "An Introduction to some ANS Resources and the use of Numismatics for Social Studies Teaching" to students in the Masters of Education department of Metropolitan College of New York.
Sat.November 8, 20143:30 pmPeter van Alfen, will discuss A Brief History of Money at the Montauk Library Details
Thurs.November 13, 20146:50pmUte Wartenberg, will present the Keynote speech The Invention of Coinage to kick off the Cornell Tech symposium The Future of Money, Details
Thurs.November 27, 2014Thanksgiving Day (ANS Closed)
Fri.November 28, 2014(ANS Closed)
Fri.-Sat.December 12-13, 2014ANS at the San Francisco Historical Bourse (SFHB)
Fri.December 12, 20146:30-8:00pmThe ANS will present a study seminar on Forgery Basics at the San Francisco Historical Bourse. Details.
Thurs.December 25, 2014Christmas Day (ANS Closed)
Fri.December 26, 2014(ANS Closed)