American Numismatic Society
American Numismatic Society



2013 Calendar

(subject to change)

Tues.January 1, 2013New Years Day (ANS Closed)

Sat.January 5, 20138:00pmDeputy Director Andrew Meadows and Curatorial Associate Rick Witschonke to attend reception sponsored by the Friends of Numismatics and the American Numismatic Society at the Seattle AIA.

Thurs.January 10, 20132013 ANS Dinner Gala In honor of Roger S. Siboni, ANS President - The Trustees' Award Recipient, and In honor of Richard B. Witschonke, ANS Curatorial Associate, and Rosemary Lazenby, Curatorial Officer, The Federal Reserve Bank of New York - The Distinguished Service Award Recipients. Details

Thurs.-Sun.January 10-13, 2013ANS Staff to attend the New York International Numismatic Convention. Details

Mon.January 21, 2013Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (ANS Closed)

Mon.February, 18 2013Presidents' Day (ANS Closed)

Sat.February 23, 201310:00amBoard of Trustees meeting

 February 25-28, 2013ANS Staff to speak at the First International Congress of Anatolian Monetary History and Numismatics Details

Tues.March 12, 2013Margaret Thompson Curator of Greek Coins Peter van Alfen to speak in the Columbia University Classics Colloquium Series Details

Mon.-Thurs.March 25-28, 2013ANS Web and Database Developer, Ethan Gruber, will attend the Computer Applications & Quantitative Methods in Archaeology convention (CAA 2013) in Perth, Western Australia. Details

Thurs.-Sun.April, 18-21, 2013ANS at the CICF (details)

Tues.May, 14, 20132012 & 2013 Huntington Award presentations details

Fri.-Sat.May, 17&18, 2013ANS at the SFHB, Oliver D. Hoover, Adjunct Curator. "The Unwritten Handbook: New Insights into Peloponnesian, Thessalian, and Sicilian Coins from the Handbook of Greek Coinage Series" details

Mon.May 27, 2013Memorial Day (ANS Closed)

Tues.June 11, 20135:30 pmBook Launch: "Ophthalmologia Optica et Visio in Nummis" by Jay M. Galst and Peter G. van Alfen details

Thurs.June 13, 20135:30 pmThe Harry W. Fowler Memorial Lecture - Dr. Mariangela Puglisi, Univ. of Messina in Sicily. "Interpreting coin images. Signs of power in Roman coinage" details

Sat.June 22, 201310:00amBoard of Trustees meeting

 August 13-17, 2013 ANS attends Chicago International Coin Fair

Tues.October 8, 20134:10pmLecture on "The Management of a Subprime Loan in Ancient Rome" by ANS Adjunct Curator of Roman Coins Gilles Bransbourg at the Classics Department of Columbia University in New York, NY.

Thurs.-Sat.October 17-19, 2013 ANS at Wall Street Coin, Currency & Collectibles Show (Bourse III) and special event for ANS, ABSS and NYNC Members Details

Sat.October 19, 201310:00amBoard of Trustees meeting

Sat.October 19, 20133:00pmANS 156th Annual Meeting

 November 7-10, 2013 ANS attends Whitman Expo in Baltimore, MD.

Fri.-Sat.November 15 - 16, 2013The Beginning of Coinage: New Discoveries and Research on Early Electrum Coinage - Symposium

Wed.November 20, 20135:30pmThe Harry W. Fowler Memorial Lecture by Amelia Dowler, Curator of Greek and Roman Coins at The British Museum, on "Authenticated Accounts? Discoveries of Greek and Roman Provincial Coins in Great Britain." Details

Thurs.November 28, 2013Thanksgiving Day (ANS Closed)

Fri.November 29, 2013(ANS Closed)

Fri.-Sat.December, 13&14, 2013ANS at the San Francisco Historical Bourse
The ANS will attend the SFHB. On Friday evening Dr. Ute Wartenberg Kagan, ANS Executive Director, will present Coin Finds in Early Modern Britain, and David Hendin, ANS Adjunct Curator, will present Roman Provincial Coins of Syria-Palestina. A reception will follow the lectures. More information about the lectures and the SFHB is available here

Wed.December 25, 2013Christmas Day (ANS Closed)

Thurs.December 26, 2013Boxing Day (ANS Closed)

 TBA, 2013Lecture: ANS Deputy Director, Andrew Meadows - "New finds from Ancient Egypt. Excavation coins from Herakleion-Thonis" (Date and details TBA)