American Numismatic Society
American Numismatic Society


The Nominating and Governance Committee, pursuant to Art V Sec. 12 of the ANS By-Laws approved for publication all of the nominees for Trustee positions and all of the nominees for Fellowship as follows:

Nominees to the Board of Trustees, for vote by the Fellows of the Society: The following Trustee candidates have been nominated for the Term ending in 2012:

Joel R. Anderson
Jere L. Bacharach
Roger S. Bagnall
Kenneth Lewis Edlow
Sydney F. Martin
Stanley DeForest Scott
Roger S. Siboni

Walter J. Husak, of Burbank, CA, is the owner of an aerospace-part manufacturing company. He began collecting coins in 1955 when he was spending a summer in Iowa at his grandparents’ farm and in 1980 he purchased his first large cent (1804). In 1986, he purchased his first Sheldon-13, and over the next decades built one of the most important Sheldon collections in the world, which was sold by Heritage in 2008. A member since 2008, Mr. Husak is a donor to the F. Campbell Library Chair.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 1. The Nominating and Governance Committee nominates the following individuals to serve as Fellows for vote by the Trustees:

Jack Benedict
Roman Coin Collector; Donor of very rare bronze and silver Roman coins. Joined 8/22/2002

Jamsheed Choksy
Professor, Central Eurasian Studies, Indiana University; Islamic Chair Donor. Joined 1/14/1995

Mary Counts
President, Whitman Publishing; Augustus B. Sage Society Member 2006-Present, Frequent Donor via Whitman Publishing (Gala Sponsorship & Auction participation. Joined 9/27/2004

John J. Dobbins
Member since 1979 when he attended the ANS summers seminar. Professor of art history at the University of Virginia; BA Holy Cross; MA Ph.D. University of Michigan; specialist on Pompeii and Morgantina Eric P. Newman Summer Seminar Student. Joined 10/13/1979

Cynthia M. Harrison
ANS summer seminar 1961; member since 1996; specialist on Achaemenid coinage; Regular donor to ANS, Bronze Circle Member through 2005. Joined 10/26/1996

Steve Ivy
Member since 1978. Co-Chairman and CEO of Heritage. Donor since 1979 and major donor over the last few years; Augustus B. Sage Society Member 2006-Present; Sesquicentennial Gala Sponsor 2008. Joined 11/11/1978

Sydney Martin
Trustee. Publishes on colonial coinage. CNL Contributor. Donor to ANS (Major contribution to Hudson Square Fund). Augustus B. Sage Society Member 2006-Present. COAC 2003 Speaker. Joined 1/11/1997

Richard Ponterio
Executive VP of Ponterio & Associates, a division of Bowers & Merena; Coin donor. \Joined 1/14/1978

Robert Schaaf
ANS Life Associate; Regular donor to the ANS. Coin Donor. Joined 7/18/2001

Warren C. Schultz
Donor, mostly to Islamic Chair Fund. Coin Donor. Joined 7/12/1991

Peter Sugar
Co-President, Flushing Coin Club, Federal Reserve Exhibit Docent. NYINC table volunteer. Regular donor. Joined1/8/1994

Thomas Tesorierio
Ancient Coin and Token Specialist, Spink/Smythe. Coin Donor. Joined 9/11/1964

Gary Trudgen
Editor Colonial Newsletter; Regular donor to ANS. Joined 1/25/2005

Richard D. Weigel
Member since 1979. Professor of History at Western Kentucky University. Roman coinage and history. Published in AJN and other numismatic journals. Joined 4/7/1979

Kerry Wetterstrom
Editor of Celator. Expert on ancient coinage. Regular donor to ANS. Coin donor. Joined 10/13/1979

Vicken Yegparian
A specialist of U.S. copper, silver and gold coins, including coins of the Colonial and Confederation periods. Employee of Stacks. COAC 2004 speaker. Donor. Joined: 1996

At any time prior to sixty (60) days before the Annual Meeting, additional nominations for positions as Fellows, Trustees and Officers and Honorary Life Fellows to be voted on at the Annual Meeting on Saturday, October 24, 2009 may be submitted in writing to the Executive Director by at least ten (10) Fellows. The Executive Director shall include in the notice of the Annual Meeting the report of the Nominating and Governance Committee and also a complete list of any other nominations duly filed. No nominations shall be made from the floor at the Annual Meeting or at any other meeting, except upon the unanimous consent of the Fellows in attendance.

Officers of the Board of Trustees to be voted on by the Board of Trustees:Pursuant to Article VI Sections 1 and 2, and upon the personal recommendation of the President, the Committee nominates the following Trustees to serve as follows:// 'Chairman of the Board: Kenneth L. Edlow
President – Roger S. Siboni
First Vice President - Douglass F. Rohrman
Second Vice President - Roger S. Bagnall, PhD
Treasurer – Sydney Martin'''

Ute Wartenberg Kagan, Executive Director, shall remain as Secretary to the Board

Submitted respectfully,
Robert A. Kandel, Chairman
Nominating and Governance Committee